I am a vegetarian most of my life. I often have hard time letting people understand what vegetarian means. Many times I tried to get the restaurants to prepare anything without meat for me, I got something with fish and shellfish.
Year 2017, I decided to be a vegan. I went to a restaurant last weekend with some friends. The restaurant suggested me to order smoke salmon sandwich and cheese and tomato sandwich. After explaining a whole length, the restaurant is nice enough to get me sundry tomato and vegetable sandwich. Most restaurants today are vegetarian or even vegan friendly. Although vegan is still pretty new to Malaysia, most restaurants are able to prepare your order as requested.
Here, I make it for us to understand better the level of vegetarianism. Lets start with the least restrictive level to the most restrictive level of vegetarianism. If you do not like to read, please watch the video below
- Flexitarian: This is basically not considered a vegetarian diet. Flexitarian practice plant-based diet as much as possible but consume meat occasionally.
- Pollotarian: Also a semi vegetarian diet but includes only poultry or any other birds but not meats from any other animals.
- Pescatarian: This is a semi vegetarian diet that only includes fish and seafood but not meats from any other animals.
- Lacto-ovo vegetarian: The most common type of vegetarian diet. This diet excludes all meats such as all red meat, all white meat, all kind of sea animals and all kind of birds. However, it includes eggs and eggs products as well as diary products.
- Lacto vegetarian: Diet that excludes all meats such as all red meat, all white meat, all kind of sea animals, all kind of birds and all kind of eggs. However, it includes diary products such as all kind of animal milks, cheese, butter and yoghurt.
- Ovo vegetarian: Diet that excludes all meats such as all red meat, all white meat, all kind of sea animals and all kind of birds. However, it includes eggs and eggs products.
- Vegan: The most restrictive vegetarian diet. It excludes all animal meats and animal products such as eggs, dairy products and honey. Vegans also do not use anything contain animal by-products or ingredients such as beeswax, silk, animal leathers and animal skins.
Hopefully that will clear the confusion of most people on understanding the different types of vegetarianism❤️ Follow me 关注我 ❤️